Blessing and a Lesson

So, I’m at school, its a 9:30 on a friday night and I am in bed. Lol. I made a “late” pasta dinner around 7, had a glass of wine, and popped in the Wedding Date on my computer. I’m wild, I know. But to be honest, this is my kind of night…and I get to sleep in tomorrow! No practice! I learned from my friend Michael “TGIP” or “Thank God its Primary”…another Ashtanga joke. We do led primary on Fridays in Mysore and that is what I have been doing here too, so every Friday its nice just to do primary and knowing tomorrow is a rest day 🙂 So, TGIP!!

I have noticed that the past two weeks that my emotions are raging…like the oddest things will trigger these deep emotions and tears. I teared up TWICE in my English class the other day…like what??? Or maybe I’ll be reading blogs and I just start sobbing…not really sure why though. Then my friend Ivana brought up the point that when you start doing intermediate series in Ashtanga and start doing deeper backbends…it will bring up emotions. Sometimes ones you can’t explain. The second series is called “Nadi Shodhana” which basically means the cleansing of your nervous system. It all makes so much more sense now! Asana practice can be a very powerful things.

These crazy emotions have also brought me some clarity in the past few days. I just finished up the first week of classes. They were fine…teachers are good, the times are good…but I was so blah about them. Last night for some reason I remembered when I was in Mysore and I first met my friend Elise. She is 25, from Canada, and she was on her fourth trip to Mysore! Anyway, I remember we met at the coconut stand and when we were walking back towards our apartments I was telling her my school/study plans. She asked me if I was excited about what I was studying and I just remember shrugging saying something like “ya kinda, I guess.” She told me when she changed her major to something that she loved, she was like “wow, I love school.” At the time, that didn’t really resonate. Maybe because it wasn’t time for it to. But the second I had that flash back, I logged onto App States website and scrolled through every major until I found something that lit a spark…and I did. So, as of today I am a declared Global Studies major with a minor in non-profit management. It was like this was specifically designed for me and I could not be more excited about it. Global Studies basically focuses on cultural studies, comparative relgions, globalization/development, human rights, peace and conflict..ect. All of which are things I am already passionate about. So, now I can say “wow, I love school.”

I have come to notice that out here in the West, I am too guilty of this, that many people think of school as this burden. Like its just one other thing to get done, so we charge right through it. Where as in India, school is such a gift. Vince and I played badminton with some local guys (around my age) around four in the afternoons right after they get done with classes at the engineering university in the city. If you ask them about school, there eyes just light up because they love it so much. So, this semester my goal was to have the same attitude toward my education, see it through their eyes. I was initially an International Business major but I knew in my heart that this was quite right, but now that I changed majors I know for certain. To be a student is really one of the greatest gifts, and we all have to opportunity to be one if you are open to it. I see myself as a student on my yoga mat every morning, in the classroom, and in life in general. When you open yourself up, you’ll be amazed at how much richer life is. Always do what you love. Always.

The people I have met along the way, are huge reasons why my attitude toward life has changed and why I see things from a new perspective. Many of which I met in India, which I believe is why I went, why I NEEDED to go. Every person that comes (and goes) in your life is said to be a lesson or a blessing. This may be true, but I have met so many that have been both. So for those who have been a lesson and a blessing in my life, no words will ever be able to express my gratitude and love for you. Thank you.

2 thoughts on “Blessing and a Lesson

Leave a Reply

